Skip to Content
New England's largest and most diverse science fiction and fantasy convention

Guests of Honor

Printer-friendly version
  • Kelley Armstrong, writer guest of honor
    Kelley Armstrong is the NYT bestselling author of the "Women of the Otherworld" paranormal suspense series, "Darkest Powers" YA urban fantasy trilogy, and the Nadia Stafford crime series. A former computer programmer, she's now escaped her corporate cubicle and hopes never to return.
  • Shaenon Garrity, webcomic guest of honor
    Shaenon K. Garrity has written and/or drawn an awful lot of webcomics, including Narbonic, Skin Horse, and Li'l Mell. She occasionally writes comics for Marvel and is the author of the book CLAMP in America. Because none of this actually earns her a living, she works as a freelance manga editor for VIZ Media.
  • Josh Simpson, artist guest of honor
    Josh Simpson's vision in glass is as vast as the universe, an unlimited landscape that stretches from the mysteries of the ocean to the far reaches of space. Self taught, his work evolved as he experimented, made stupid mistakes, and pursued countless dead ends. In 1976 he began his "Infinity Project" — to leave his small planet sculptures around the Earth, an unsigned gift for future generations.
  • René Walling, fan guest of honor
    A fan of animation, comic books and science fiction, René Walling chaired Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon held in MontrĂ©al in 2009. He writes for fps magazine, co-owns Nanopress, a small publishing company, helps out with a few conventions, and has occasionally been known to work as a graphic designer. He looks forward to living on Mars where he would benefit from having more than 24 hours in a day.
  • Seanan McGuire, special guest
    Seanan is an American author and filker. She was awarded the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer by the 2010 World Science Fiction Convention. This award was announced at Aussiecon 4 on September 5, 2010. As this award is in the form of a tiara and the award was presented in Australia, Seanan has blogged that this makes her "Officially the Princess of the Kingdom of Poison and Flame". In 2010, McGuire's novel FEED (written under the pseudonym Mira Grant) ranked #74 in an National Public Radio listener poll of the top 100 Thriller novels of all time. McGuire has won three Pegasus Awards and been nominated for 4 more.